Babies, society and planes

Dear Sherlock,

A friend of mine (not the pregnant one) just welcomed their daughter into the world last weekend. I guess I’m getting to that age range. It’s no longer engagements and weddings, it’s children and divorces (I’ll get back to the latter some other time).

But do you like babies? I am pretty…indifferent towards them. I don’t really have any strong opinions. I hate that society expects me to gush and fawn over them though. I do it because it’s easier than dealing with the fallout of being stand off-ish. I know I shouldn’t care what other people think. But it still happens.

Anyways, what I have noticed, is that biologically they say women in their thirties are more sensitive to the sound of crying babies and it’s so true. They sound so shrill now – and I’ve been seated next to quite a few on a lot of the flights I’ve been taking. I don’t remember this from when I was younger. I think it’s a big part of why the travel is wearing on me. (I’m in the mid-west this weekend).

Is there an equivalent biological change for men? What’s going to happen to you when John and Mary’s baby arrives?

xoxo
AC

Leave a comment